Schwartz Award Winners

  • 1994: Kevin Cooney

    Kevin Cooney (1974) joined Des Moines’ KCCI newsroom while still in high school and worked there full-time after graduation. Read More

  • 1993: John D. (Jack) Shelley

    Jack Shelley is a pioneer of broadcast journalism. During World War II, he covered the Battle of the Bulge and the surrender of the Japanese on the battleship Missouri for WHO Radio in Des Moines. Read More

  • 1992: John Madson

    John Madson (1951) is considered the father of the modern prairie restoration movement. He wrote about the natural history and resource conservation of rivers, prairies, plains, and deserts. Read More

  • 1991: Geneva Overholser

    Geneva Overholser began reporting at the Colorado Springs Sun before freelancing from Africa and Europe for five years. She then joined the editorial page of the Des Moines Register, moved to The New York Times editorial staff, and returned to Des Moines as editor of the Register in 1988. Read More

  • 1990: Donald L. Arends

    Don Arends (1952) worked as an advertising writer, advertising coordinator and corporate communications director before founding his own marketing firm in 1958. Arends, Inc. is based near Chicago and serves local, regional, national and multi-national corporate clients. Read More

  • 1989: Robert E. Kowalski

    Robert Kowalski (1966, 1977) was trained as a medical journalist and has written award-winning television public service announcements, patient-education materials, and for a variety of health publications for over three decades. Read More

  • 1988: Leo Mores

    Leo Mores (1938) started his newspaper career as a carrier for the Des Moines Register in the eighth grade and continued through high school at the Seymour Herald. After college, he worked as advertising manager at the Rockwell City Advocate. Read More

  • 1987: Terry Anderson

    Terry Anderson (1974) joined the Associated Press and worked in Asia and Africa before being assigned to Lebanon as the chief Mideast correspondent in 1982. Read More

  • 1987: William E. Ames

    William E. Ames (1952) is the author of The History of the National Intelligencer, a definitive history of the first and most influential newspaper in Washington D.C. until 1869. Read More

  • 1986: Roy Reiman

    Roy Reiman (1957) joined Capper’s Farmer magazine and became managing editor at the age of 23. In 1964, he launched his own company, Reiman Publications, in the basement of his home. Read More