Schwartz Award Winners

  • 2022: James Thomas (Tom) Emmerson

    Emmerson’s Iowa State career spans from being a student in the 1950s, returning in 1974 as a professor, and serving as chair of the Department… Read More

  • 2021: Debra Solberg Gibson

    Debra Solberg Gibson’s (1981) career at Iowa State began in 1982 after a stint as editor of Farm Review, the Spencer Daily Reporter’s monthly agribusiness publication based in… Read More

  • 2020: Rick Phillips

    Rick Phillips (1978) joined Nationwide in 1999, after spending 20+ years working in communications, marketing and public relations positions for Meredith Corporation, United Way of… Read More

  • 2019: Kim Guthrie

    Kim Guthrie (1984) is the President of Cox Media Group and the first female president to serve at its 120-year-old parent company Cox Enterprises. As… Read More

  • 2018: William F. “Bill” Tubbs

    Bill Tubbs (1971), publisher of the Eldridge (IA) North Scott Press is an award-winning writer who is the National Newspaper Association’s 2015 James O. Read More

  • 2017: Gene and Margy Chamberlin

    [Margaret “Margy” and the late L. Eugene “Gene” Chamberlin]( established one of the Greenlee School’s signature programs, the Chamberlin Lecture series, to bring national perspectives… Read More

  • 2016: Dean Borg

    Dean Borg (1959), senior correspondent and producer for Iowa Public Radio, is one of Iowa’s leading voices on public policy and politics. Borg has dedicated… Read More

  • 2015: Bob and Diane Greenlee

    Bob (1963, 1968) and Diane (1966) Greenlee helped elevate Iowa State University as a premier place to study journalism and mass communication. In 1998, a generous gift from Bob and Diane transformed one of the university’s oldest programs into the university’s first named school. Read More

  • 2014: William F. Kunerth

    William "Bill" F. Kunerth, a 30-year faculty member at the Greenlee School, helped establish Iowa State University as the premier place to find talent among the state's print and broadcast media; set high reportorial standards for his classes as well as for Iowa State Daily reporters; was an advocate for transparency on campus; compelled the Iowa State Foundation to keep its records open; and kept the Jack Trice story alive through his students over several generations until Cyclone Stadium was named after Trice. Read More