Harry Heath/Lou Thompson, Jr. Advising Award

Established in 2007 by the late Lou Thompson Jr., alumnus and former chair of the Greenlee School’s Advisory Council, in the name of his own adviser, the late Harry Heath, former Iowa State journalism professor and alumnus, this award recognizes faculty advisers and their commitment to: an open-door policy, astute academic advising, practical mentoring and life-changing influence. The award recipient is selected annually by the school’s Student Advisory Board.

View past winners of the Harry Heath / Lou Thompson, Jr. Advising Award

Hugh Sidey Award

The Hugh S. Sidey Scholarship in Print Journalism at the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication was established in 2006 at Mr. Sidey’s alma mater, Iowa State University, by the White House Historical Association and Mr. David M. Rubenstein. To keep alive Hugh Sidey’s legacy of reporting on the presidency, the scholarship will support aspiring print journalists at the Greenlee School. Undergraduate students who exhibit extraordinary understanding of the responsibilities of covering the chief executive and the core principle of social responsibility that resides with the print journalist will be identified for this award.

View past winners of the Hugh Sidey Award

James W. Schwartz Award

The James W. Schwartz Award is the highest honor conferred by the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication. It is awarded in honor of James Schwartz, former department chair of the school. The school’s Advisory Council and faculty nominate candidates, and faculty members select the winner.

View past winners of the James W. Schwartz Award

Kappa Tau Alpha and Greenlee School Diversity & Inclusion Award

Established in 2017 this award is presented annually to a professional journalist and a Greenlee student to recognize their excellence in journalism and promotion of a just and inclusive society through ethical storytelling that broadens people’s understanding of diverse lives and communities. Kappa Tau Alpha is an honor society for students studying journalism and mass communication. Iowa State’s chapter was founded in 1986.

View past winners of the Diversity and Inclusion Award