• Thomas Emmerson named Greenlee School’s 2022 James W. Schwartz Award recipient

    The Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication at Iowa State University has named James Thomas (Tom) Emmerson the recipient of its 2022 James W. Schwartz Award. The annual award recognizes distinguished service to journalism and communication and is the highest honor conferred by the school. Read More

  • Announcing the 2022 Greenlee School alumni award recipients

    Iowa State University’s Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication has named the 2022 recipients of two alumni awards. Ron Schara ('66 journalism) is the recipient of the 2022 Greenlee Professional Achievement Award, and Kelly Howard ('08 journalism and mass communication) is the recipient of the 2022 Greenlee Young Alumni Award. Read More

  • 2022: Kelly Howard

    The recipient of the 2022 Greenlee Young Alumni Award is Kelly Howard. This award recognizes a Greenlee School graduate under 40 years of age or with fewer than 15 years of professional experience who has demonstrated excellence within their field. Read More

  • 2022: Ron Schara

    Ron Schara, ’66 journalism, and Raven Ron Schara is the recipient of the 2022 Greenlee Professional Achievement Award, which recognizes a Greenlee School graduate who has demonstrated… Read More

  • Alumni Profile: Kathie Obradovich

    Kathie Obradovich is editor-in-chief for Iowa Capital Dispatch, part of a national not-for-profit news organization. She leads an experienced staff covering state news and politics and writes a weekly column. Since the Iowa site launched in January 2020, more than a dozen Iowa newspapers and news sites have begun regularly publishing Iowa Capital Dispatch content. Read More

  • Alumni Profile: Steve Walker

    Steve Walker graduated from Iowa State in 1984, launching his career as a broadcast journalist, television host and news producer. He has been a TV news anchor and reporter in San Diego, Seattle, Omaha as well as on national cable television based in New York. Read More

  • Greenlee School alumni and friends honored by LAS, ISU Alumni Association

    The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and the Iowa State University Alumni Association presented awards to Dave Kurns, the late Henry Ong, Art Slusark and Dan Winters during Homecoming Week. Bill Tubbs received Greenlee's Schwartz Award and Jen Sorenson was recognized by the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. Read More

  • Doug and Karen Jeske with ISU President Wendy Wintersteen and ISU Foundation President and CEO Larissa Holtmyer Jones
    Iowa State University Foundation presents 2018 Emerging Philanthropist Awards

    ISU alumni Doug and Karen Jeske were presented with the 2018 Order of the Knoll Emerging Philanthropist Award. Doug holds a degree in agricultural journalism and is a member of the Greenlee School Advisory Council. Read More

  • Denise Essman, Joel Geske and Angela Powers stand with plaque
    Associate Professor Joel Geske awarded the 2018-19 Allen Essman Faculty Fellowship

    Joel Geske, associate professor in advertising, is the first recipient of the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication’s Allen Essman Faculty Fellowship made possible by Iowa State alumna, Denise Essman (marketing, 1973). The inaugural Faculty Fellowship rewards an advertising professor who has demonstrated excellence in their profession. Read More