Thomas Emmerson named Greenlee School’s 2022 James W. Schwartz Award recipient

The Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication at Iowa State University has named James Thomas (Tom) Emmerson the recipient of its 2022 James W. Schwartz Award. The annual award recognizes distinguished service to journalism and communication and is the highest honor conferred by the school. Read More

2022: James Thomas (Tom) Emmerson

Emmerson’s Iowa State career spans from being a student in the 1950s, returning in 1974 as a professor, and serving as chair of the Department… Read More

2021: Cooper Pierce

2020: Teagan Gara

2021: Debra Solberg Gibson

Debra Solberg Gibson’s (1981) career at Iowa State began in 1982 after a stint as editor of Farm Review, the Spencer Daily Reporter’s monthly agribusiness publication based in… Read More

Announcing the 2022 Greenlee School alumni award recipients

Iowa State University’s Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication has named the 2022 recipients of two alumni awards. Ron Schara ('66 journalism) is the recipient of the 2022 Greenlee Professional Achievement Award, and Kelly Howard ('08 journalism and mass communication) is the recipient of the 2022 Greenlee Young Alumni Award. Read More

2022: Kelly Howard

The recipient of the 2022 Greenlee Young Alumni Award is Kelly Howard. This award recognizes a Greenlee School graduate under 40 years of age or with fewer than 15 years of professional experience who has demonstrated excellence within their field. Read More

2022: Ron Schara

Ron Schara, ’66 journalism, and Raven Ron Schara is the recipient of the 2022 Greenlee Professional Achievement Award, which recognizes a Greenlee School graduate who has demonstrated… Read More

2021: Adam Kuban

Adam Kuban (’05, M.S. ’07) joined the faculty in the Department of Journalism at Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana, in 2011, and became… Read More